Encouragement to the Body of Christ in all facets of life. As the body of believers we ought to enjoy life and share the love of Christ. Life gets tough but thru every challenge we operate knowing that we have the VICTORY! Nothing is impossible with Christ, as we walk by faith.

The Whispered Call

Hello Friday Fictioneers! I am really enjoying the opportunity to share and read others short stories.

For those of you, who do not take part in the Friday Fictioneers blog group, please accept this as an invitation. Every Wednesday we are receive a photo and the goal is to give a short story using 100 words. This task is the true challenge and I find it very inspiring reading the other members view on the photo prompt.

Each participate then has an opportunity to review, comment, and/or offer constructive criticism. Therefore we live, learn, and improve. Come join and have some fun!

Rochelle Wisoff-Fields is the host and extends a welcome to all participants.

Below is my contribution.

Copyright-Renee Homan Heath

Copyright-Renee Homan Heath

Did someone call me?
“Katelyn”
I don’t know anyone here.
I am tired and I do not want to be noticed.
The struggle to fight is unbearable.
I just want to go quietly, knowing the plans for tonight.
Should I answer the voice beyond the brush?
“Katelyn”
It is so welcoming and inviting.
Walking across the boardwalk bare feet, I feel as if I am in another world.
A new hope grows with every step.
In the distance could that really be him.
All of my strength leaves me as I looked at the silhouette of my love.

Click here to read other Friday Fictioneers

Click here to read other Friday Fictioneers

Comments on: "The Whispered Call" (21)

  1. Dear YJ,
    A sweet piece that exudes sweet peace. On a technical note, in your fourth line you have tire and notice…I think you need a “d’ on the end of each of those.
    shalom,
    Rochelle

  2. This was a nice piece. I didn’t understand the switch from first person narrative to third person and then back to first, right at the end. Am I missing something here?

  3. Terrific love story!

  4. I love the hope this story leaves me with. Lovely tale

  5. awww, poor girl, but this could be something special when she gets there.

    i’m looking at this line: In the distance background… i don’t think you need the word “background.” just distance. well done.

  6. I like how you move from tired depression to the dawning of hope. I could feel my spirits lifting along with hers.

    On the more mundane side…

    “I felt as if I was in another world
    A new hope grew with every step.
    In the distance background could that really be him.
    All of my strength left me…”

    The rest of the piece is in the present tense, so just change, “I feel as if I’m in…hope grows…can that really be…strength leaves me…” Then everything works together.

    janet

  7. I hope what she sees works out for her. I felt despair in her tiredness. But maybe she’s in a dream… that might work.

  8. Such a nice change of pace. Very nice.

  9. Meetin your love is worth whatever obstacles greeet you. Nice story here.

  10. Such a nice change from exhausted despair to hope!

Leave a comment